

Memorandum of Understanding

BioSyst.EU: the Federation of Biological Systematics Societies in Europe

Research in the fields of taxonomy and systematics is the basis for all aspects of biological research and for the conservation of biodiversity. In view of the global biodiversity crisis and the lack of taxonomic expertise, international cooperation is necessary to arouse awareness, to improve our knowledge about the global species richness, its function and threat. To coordinate European research, BioSyst.EU (www.biosyst.eu) was founded at the Natural History Museum Vienna on 3 October 2006 by representatives of the Systematics Association (UK), Société Française de Systématique (F), Gesellschaft für Biologische Systematik (D), Swiss Systematics Society (CH); the Network of Biological Systematics Austria (A) joined in 2007; the Swedish Systematics Association (S) joined in 2009.

During the first joint BioSyst.Eu Congress at Leiden, Netherlands, representatives of all above members agreed this Memorandum of Understanding to provide a European platform to:

- 1. hold joint meetings on a regular basis;
- 2. promote research, teaching, and training in all areas of systematic biology, including phylogenetic, taxonomic, and biodiversity research;
- 3. encourage collaboration and interchange among researchers, both individually and through their respective societies and institutions;
- 4. coordinate national and international efforts without infringing on the autonomy of the member societies;
- 5. encourage formation of additional national systematic societies, while continuing to represent systematists in countries still lacking formal societies;
- 6. increase the profile and funding of systematic biology in the European parliament.

BioSyst.EU represents European scientists dealing with topics of systematic biology. It considers itself as a collaborative counterpart to the Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities (CETAF) where European Natural History Institutions have joined, whereas in BioSyst.EU individual scientists are to be represented via their national or regional societies.

Leiden, 14 August 2009

SystAss (Richard Bateman, Juliet Brodie) SFS (Valery Malecot) GfBS (Regine Jahn, Wolfgang Wägele, Gerhard Haszprunar) SSS (Jean Mariaux, Reto Nyffeler, Seraina Klopfstein) NOBIS (Dominique Zimmermann, Peter Comes, Helmut Sattmann) SSA (Bengt Oxelman)

Note: Alessandro Minelli attended for the potential Italian Systematic Society